Storm Debris Burn Permits Extended Through July 15, 2020


Chattanooga, Tenn. – June 8, 2020 – The Chattanooga-Hamilton County Air Pollution Control Bureau extends its sympathy to residents who were affected by the tornado on Sunday, April 12, 2020. The Bureau has been issuing storm debris burn permits free of charge for residents in Hamilton County who were directly impacted by the tornado. This permit is for the unincorporated areas of Hamilton County that do not have access to brush pickup services.

Residents who have, or obtain, a Storm Debris Burn Permit may now burn through July 15, 2020 on approved burning days. Residents must obtain a permit before burning, and an inspection will be required. Please allow up to a week for the inspection.

Residents with storm damage may burn brush, natural vegetation, and clean, raw, untreated, non-manufactured wood from their property. Brush should be gathered into piles no larger than 12 foot by 12 foot by 12 foot. No other materials may be burned.

Prior to obtaining a permit, wood should be piled and ready to burn. Once this is done, residents should apply for a storm debris permit from the Bureau, which can be completed:

• online at, or by
• calling 423.643.5970.

The Bureau is closed to the public due to the COVID-19 pandemic and will not accept applications in person.

The Bureau is committed to helping with the recovery efforts of those affected by the tornado, but also wants to preserve the health of those in the area. Exposure to wood smoke has been linked to a variety of health problems including:

• increased respiratory symptoms, such as irritation of the airways, coughing, or difficulty breathing,
• decreased lung function,
• aggravated asthma, and
• development of chronic bronchitis.

Due to the negative health effects of burning green wood, the Bureau advises residents that all wood should be piled up and allowed to dry out before burning.

With the exception of the Storm Debris Burn Permit, all burning permits are expired. The seasonal burning ban is in effect through September 30, 2020.